Defender

Dear Terrence,

I see it in you, I really do. I see that desire to change. I see that you’re as frustrated with how your life is going as the teachers who interact with you on a daily basis, and I understand that you’re really at a loss as to how to change. I’m not even sure you have a clear conception of what to change, let alone how. But I saw it today, that desire, when you tried shushing some other students. There was a certain irony in that, to be sure, but you were trying. You smiled at me, said, “I don’t see how you guys put up with it,” and I thought, “Little moments like this help.”

Thanks for that. We’ll work on the delivery later.

Smiling,
Your Teacher

Leave a Reply

